Drought Zone Declared in 16 of Thailand’s Provinces

 | Mon 3 Mar 2014 11:22 ICT

CityNews – The Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Department has declared 16 provinces drought disaster zones in need of urgent assistance, which covers a total of 2,876 villages in 62 districts.

The provinces in the North are Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phrae, and Tak. In the Northeast they are Buriram, Maha Sarakham, Khon Kaen and Chaiyaphum. In the Central area they are Singburi, Saraburi, Chai Nat and in the East they are Chachoengsao, Chanthaburi, Prachinburi. The only province to be declared a drought disaster zone in the South is Trang.

We will keep you updated on the drought situation as it progresses.